top of page

20 Lessons I Learned At 20

Earlier this week, I unwillingly turned 20. That sounds insane to even say aloud. I don't know where all these years are coming from but they're stacking up and it's scary. I think I'm having a one-fifth's life crisis. But, I digress.


Over the years, I've learnt a lot of priceless lessons and life continues to humble me as a student. I feel like I've learned so much that has matured me so quickly and I'm forever grateful for all the experiences I've had. With that being said, I thought I'd share some of the best lessons I've learnt and constantly ponder.


But, before I give you some old-man wisdom, welcome back to my blog, readers! If you're new here, this is where I give guides and drop lots of advice about creativity, school and lifestyle! If you haven't, you should definitely subscribe so you can get notified every time I drop a new post! Oh, and you should seriously click that little heart icon at the end of this post because it makes me smile. I like smiling. Okay, now that I've pressured you into increasing my engagement, let's get into: 20 Lessons I Learned At 20.



 

1. Manifestation

Visualize what you want and speak of it as if it were a reality. It will find its way to you.


2. Not Everyone Thinks The Way You Do

Empathy is a skill not everyone has access to. Treasure yours and be aware of others' lack thereof.


3. Not Everyone Will Like You

But make sure you like yourself.


4. Everyone Is Going Through Something

Do not treat people the way you would like to be treated. Treat them as if they're having the worst day of their life, but you have the power to change that.


5. Read And Write

You love it and it fuels you in a way nothing else ever will.



6. Give Your Parents Something To Smile About

They work pretty hard. Make them proud.


7. Love Yourself

In this world, no one else will.


8. The World Is Yours For The Taking

Apply everywhere and do everything just because you can.


9. Actions Speak Louder Than Words

The evidence of character is meaningless in words and meaningful in gestures.



10. Get A Planner

It's only been two days but my life has changed.


11. Be The Change You Want To See

Everyone who ever did anything was once like you with a little more motivation, determination and heart.


12. Be Your Biggest Fan

The moment you truly believe in yourself, others will too. Show them how it's done.


13. Live Honestly

Lies are pointless with no beginning nor end, and one day, if you've lied enough, you'll have tangled an entire world around yourself until you can't see anything real.


14. Live Passionately

Love what you do and do what you love. That is the meaning of life.


15. Jewellery Will Elevate Any Outfit

Literally get a watch or a chain. Life-changing.



16. Sleep On It

Ideas and thoughts need to ferment.


17. Listen Twice As Much As You Speak

One mouth, two ears.


18. Listen To Understand, Not To Respond

You will learn so much this way.


19. Marriage Is A Scam

True love doesn't exist.


20. Dreams Only Work If You Do

And if you work hard enough you won't ever have to wake up.


 

Conclusion

That was therapeutic.


If you feel the same way or thought these advices were gems too, be sure to click that little heart icon below to show some love and drop a comment telling me which one resonated with you the most!


If you want to read more stuff from me including my new, FREE book, Godspeed, feel free to follow me on Wattpad and Medium so you can read all my works and Twitter and Instagram where I occasionally rant, share music and discuss the pains of being a creator. I also share sneak peeks of my novel and new blog posts at times too, if you're into that. As usual, have a great weekend, readers!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

BUY
NOW

Hey there, my name's Matthew and welcome to my blog! Here I talk about a whole bunch of stuff I find interesting and you might too! Especially if you're a writer, reader or content creator. Feel free to browse and subscribe!

​

Oh! Almost forgot, the search bar at the top allows you to search hashtags or keywords to find a post specific to your needs! Have fun!

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
bottom of page